Review: Case Histories // A Case of the “Not For Me”

Review by Mary Kat Rating: 😻😻 /5Recommend for: This wasn't a good fit for me, so I'm not sure. If you enjoyed this one, let me know in the comments! A Case of the "Not For Me" SPOILERS AHEAD! Continue at your own risk. Intro Case Histories by Kate Atkinson is a book I was … Continue reading Review: Case Histories // A Case of the “Not For Me”

Review: The Pisces // What Did I Just Read?

Review by Mary Kat Rating: 😻😻/5Β Recommend for:Β Very adventurous readers with a dark and dirty sense of humor Intro Attempting to review The Pisces by Melissa Broder is a challenge, to say the least. The book is intense, bewildering, and inscrutable. It is full of vulgar and graphic material. Why did I read it? I was asking … Continue reading Review: The Pisces // What Did I Just Read?

Review: The Sentence is Death // But the Review is a Rave

Review by Mary Kat Rating: 😻😻😻😻 /5Recommend for: Fans of whodunnits and those in mood for a light, fun read Good advice for murder mysteries: watch your step (and your back) Intro The Sentence is Death by Anthony Horowitz is the second in the Hawthorne series and manages to surpass its predecessor. As usual for … Continue reading Review: The Sentence is Death // But the Review is a Rave

Review: My Sister, The Serial Killer // Sisters, Killers, and The Trauma That Binds

Review by Mary Kat Rating: 😻😻😻😻😻 /5Recommend for: Those in the mood for a funny and deliciously dark read Sisters, Killers, and The Trauma That Binds Intro My Sister, The Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite is a deliciously dark and funny book that I devoured in less than a day. The book centers on two … Continue reading Review: My Sister, The Serial Killer // Sisters, Killers, and The Trauma That Binds

Review: Women Talking // Is Exactly That

Review by Mary Kat Rating: 😻😻😻😻 /5Recommend for: Fans of Margaret Atwood, The Power by Naomi Alderman, or other feminist novels Women Talking Is Exactly That Intro Women Talking by Miriam Toews is a slight book that takes on massive, heady ideas and a violent history. The novel has a real-life inspiration: from 2005-2009, Mennonite … Continue reading Review: Women Talking // Is Exactly That

Review: There There // A Masterpiece and Sucker Punch In One

Review by Mary Kat Rating: 😻😻😻😻😻/5 Recommends for: Fans of beautiful writing and those interested in learning more about Native American experiences What do you think of my Book Nook? Intro There There by Tommy Orange is a masterpiece and a sucker punch in one. To be straight up, this book had me wrecked. Shook … Continue reading Review: There There // A Masterpiece and Sucker Punch In One