Review: The Sentence is Death // But the Review is a Rave

Review by Mary Kat Rating: 😻😻😻😻 /5Recommend for: Fans of whodunnits and those in mood for a light, fun read Good advice for murder mysteries: watch your step (and your back) Intro The Sentence is Death by Anthony Horowitz is the second in the Hawthorne series and manages to surpass its predecessor. As usual for … Continue reading Review: The Sentence is Death // But the Review is a Rave

Review: Women Talking // Is Exactly That

Review by Mary Kat Rating: 😻😻😻😻 /5Recommend for: Fans of Margaret Atwood, The Power by Naomi Alderman, or other feminist novels Women Talking Is Exactly That Intro Women Talking by Miriam Toews is a slight book that takes on massive, heady ideas and a violent history. The novel has a real-life inspiration: from 2005-2009, Mennonite … Continue reading Review: Women Talking // Is Exactly That

Review: There There // A Masterpiece and Sucker Punch In One

Review by Mary Kat Rating: 😻😻😻😻😻/5 Recommends for: Fans of beautiful writing and those interested in learning more about Native American experiences What do you think of my Book Nook? Intro There There by Tommy Orange is a masterpiece and a sucker punch in one. To be straight up, this book had me wrecked. Shook … Continue reading Review: There There // A Masterpiece and Sucker Punch In One

Review: Where the Crawdads Sing // A Love Letter to the Marsh

Review by Mary Kat Rating: 😻😻😻😻 /5 Recommend for: Fans of Swamplandia! by Karen Russell, the movie Beasts of the Southern Wild, and others who like to immerse themselves in the atmosphere of the Southern coast My remake: Where the Bubbles Sing A Love Letter to the Marsh Intro Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia … Continue reading Review: Where the Crawdads Sing // A Love Letter to the Marsh